Home > Calcutta (Kolkata), General > Calcutta GPO ~ Site of Old Fort.

Calcutta GPO ~ Site of Old Fort.

Located on the crossing of Netaji Subhas Road and Koilaghat Street, is located Calcutta’s main or General Post Ofiice (GPO). General Post Office (GPO) is one of the famous landmark of the city of Calcutta (Kolkata). Built in 1868 (construction started in 1864) the majestic building was designed by Walter B. Grenvile.

General Post Office (GPO), Calcutta (Kolkata)

General Post Office (GPO), Calcutta (Kolkata)

The majestic building has two wings supported by Ionic – Corinthian pillars and is crowned with a towering dome. Today it operates as the chief post office of West Bengal and contains a Philately Department and a Postal Museum.

Built at the sight of the old Fort William (built in 1700), which was destroyed by Shiraj – ud – Daulah during the “Seige of Calcutta” in 1756.

Left: Plaque mentioning the Brass Plate, Right: Portion of the Brass Plate

Left: Plaque mentioning the Brass Plate, Right: Portion of the Brass Plate

Along the eastern staircase of the GPO almost invisible brass plate marks the eastern end of the old Fort William, probably the only remains of the old fort of Calcutta.

In recent years a marble plaque has been put on the Eastern walls of GPO mentioning the Brass Plate but still the almost obliterate brass plate is difficult to spot. Thousand of pedestrians walk pass the GPO everyday ignoring the only remains of the Old Fort of Calcutta.

Reference:

  • 10 Wlaks in Calcutta by Prosenjit Das Gupta
  • Saswata Kolkata by Nishitranjan Roy

List of my Blog entries on Calcutta (Kolkata)

  1. S. Bhattacharya
    May 4, 2013 at 4:11 PM

    Excellent workout… I have seen the drawing (plan) of the fort with present buildings. want to know more about the complete boundary of Old Fort surrounded by copper plates.

    • May 19, 2013 at 8:34 PM

      Dear Mr Bhattachary, may I know where you have seen the plan? I am working to improve the article it will be great if you can help me, do drop me a mail.

  2. September 23, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    I was very happy to uncover this page. I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely liked every bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new stuff
    on your blog.

    • November 8, 2016 at 1:40 PM

      Thanks Terry for the late reply, do keep reading my blog.

  3. November 8, 2016 at 6:30 AM

    all to brief – on this one I wanted a bit more – the myths and lore around the old fort, Suraj etx – there are so many stories. THanks for this, and the close up of the brass outline – very good.

    cheers
    John

    John Hutnyk | Interviews from Yale University Radio WYBCX
    http://museumofnonvisibleart.com/interviews/john-hutnyk/

    On Cultural Revolution: An Interview with John Hutnyk | stateofnature.org
    http://www.stateofnature.org/?p=5966

    • November 8, 2016 at 1:39 PM

      Indeed it was brief write up, in fact these was my early blog post, I was not sure whether my reader will read my long blog post.

      I have plans to rewrite the post with myths and lore but not sure when it will be done.

  4. Arup
    April 26, 2017 at 7:25 PM

    I saw a plan of the fort of 1756 and another plan of 1903 with existing buildings as on 1903,. What was the approximate breadth of the fort.Length I know was upto the Collectorate office.
    Appreciate the research done.
    Also there was a Grand Jail near the vicinity of the Victoria Memorial. I also have a map of its location.

  1. July 14, 2021 at 7:17 AM

Leave a comment