Home > General, Interview, Testimonial > A Few Good Bloggers, The Times of India

A Few Good Bloggers, The Times of India

A Few Good Bloggers

Jaideep Mazumdar, The Times of India

“Good Morning Sir, have you received your copy of The Times of India?” this was what I used to say as Reader Relation Executive (RRE) for The Times of India (TOI).

It was October 1999 and Times of India was making its inroads in Kolkata (Calcutta). I was doing my Masters of Business Management (MBM) from Calcutta University (CU) and the travelling bug had already bit me.

So to fund my trips I joined the door to door promotional campaign for Times of India. It was an early morning job and I had ample time to attend my classes at the Alipur Campus of Calcutta University.

A Few Good Bloggers, Jaideep Mazumdar, The Times of India, 7 March 2015

A Few Good Bloggers, Jaideep Mazumdar, The Times of India, 7 March 2015

Couple of months stint with Times of India provided me with enough funds to make my first solo trip, a trek to Sandakphu & Phalut, and opened up the opportunity of taking travel seriously.

Six month later I was out of college and decided not to take up a regular job, instead I started taking up teaching assignments in Management Colleges.

My travelling continued along with travele writing and photography. My travelogues became a regular feature in leading newspapers like The Statesman, The Telegraph and Hindusthan Times, sadly I was unable to leave my mark in Times of India.

Few years later the newspapers started doing away with the travel columns, forcing me to the world of blogging (in 2011) and I soon got the hang of it.

Later Anirban Saha, a fellow blogger, introduced me to Kolkata Bloggers, a blogging platform for bloggers in Kolkata. It was due to the initiative of Anirban and Kolkata Bloggers, Jaideep Mazumdar a journalist from the times of India, interviewed me along with several bloggers from Kolkata. The interviews was published under the section Weekend Focus, of Times of India on 7 March 2015 and was titled A Few Good BLOGGERS. Thank you The Times of India, but I still dream of writing travelogues for you.

The following is the extract about me “Travelling has always been a passion with Rangan Datta, 42. So much so that after obtaining a post-graduate degree in business management from Calcutta University in 2000, he decided against applying for a regular job. “That wouldn’t have allowed me to travel as much as I would want to,“ he explains. Instead, he took up part-time teaching jobs in some institutions and writing travelogues for various newspapers. But when newspapers started doing away with travel columns, he started his own blog in June 2011. Rangan’s blog (http:www.rangandatta.wordpress.com) now gets ads and about 300 hits a day . “People buy the photos I put up on my blog and I conduct specialized guided tours,“ he says. His blog has landed him invitations from the tourism authorities of many countries and states in India to travel and write about those places.” (Please do read the whole article).

Other Bloggers featured in the article:

Special Thanks:

  • Jaideep Mazumdar of Times of India
  • Anirban Saha, founder of Kolkata Bloggers
  1. March 11, 2015 at 12:13 AM

    I read that edition and I was glad that I already follow your blog🙂

  2. March 11, 2015 at 5:01 PM

    Wow.. glad to connect with Kolkata bloggers…
    Congratulations for the feature.

    • March 12, 2015 at 11:01 AM

      Thanks Majulika, we bloggers need more recognition.

      • March 12, 2015 at 11:01 AM

        Absolutely… I so agree with you..

  3. March 11, 2015 at 6:19 PM

    Congratulations to you! Indeed a reason to be proud.🙂

    • March 12, 2015 at 11:02 AM

      Thanks Indrani, its a honor to receive regular comments from a well established blogger like you. Keep blogging.

  4. March 11, 2015 at 10:03 PM

    Congrats !

  5. March 12, 2015 at 1:41 AM

    Wow! Congratulations to you and the other featured bloggers!🙂

    • March 12, 2015 at 11:04 AM

      Thanks, looking forward for more such features from the conventional media.

  6. March 12, 2015 at 2:03 AM

    Great! Congratulations Ranganda…I’m sure one day you’ll be writing travelogues for TOI🙂

    • March 12, 2015 at 11:05 AM

      Thanks Maniparna, hope my dream would come true.

  7. pritam singh
    March 12, 2015 at 8:21 AM

    Great work. congrats

  8. March 15, 2015 at 8:21 PM

    Hi Rangan….a very deserving crown for you.Nice that you have recollected your TOI days in 1999 as marketing trainee when it made inroads into Bengal.Me at that time was one of the very few lucky freelancer who were allowed to contribute travelogue in Times of India….I wish oneday I will be back there as travel writer along with you.Will not be that great ?

    • March 19, 2015 at 3:32 PM

      Thanks Somen for sharing your experience with TOI, during its formative years in Kolkata. Its quiet likely that I promoted your travelogues in TOI!!!!

      TOI never had a regular travel column and other newspapers are also following the same path, hope they will change their policy and you and I could get back to travelogue writing in newspaper again.

  9. July 19, 2016 at 3:43 PM

    Great post.

    http://yesmytrip.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

